One of the NPCs in the Phoenix Academy game is addicted to Invictus, a drug of alien origin that gives you super powers… sometimes. Maybe.
Some of this isn’t relevant, since it’s an NPC, but I’m messing around with a related move, because one of the PCs wants to help him.
When you’re addicted to Invictus, either physically, psychologically, or both, Invictus has Influence over you.
- It can use its Influence to shift your labels by making you believe you know how the world works.
- It can and will use it’s Influence to Provoke you to rash action.
- The roll to reject Influence against Invictus is always -Conditions.
- Per the original Invictus rules, you may have super powers while Invictus has influence over you.
- Invictus must be given influence over you at the end of every session where you could give influence to someone on your team, if you want to keep the powers. If you do so, keep your powers, and Invictus shifts your labels (always Freak up, Mundane down).
- You never keep your powers if Invictus does not have Influence over you. That is a lie told by Invictus dealers - the powers never ‘stick’. Ever.
You can remove Invictus’s Influence as the result of rejecting its influence, but that influence can (and probably will) come back as the result certain 6- rolls (or even a 7-9, if you ignore the impending threat). The only mechanical way to permanently remove the threat of Invictus Influence is using a “permanently remove someone’s influence” playbook advance - assuming that advance is also reflected within the fiction.
If someone Comforts and Supports you while Invictus has influence over you, on a 6-, Invictus may now have influence over them . (You can roll to Defend them from this.)
Somebody can help you remove Invictus’s influence (again, not permanently - only you can do that), if you are currently free of Conditions. The roll will probably be either +Freak or +Mundane, depending on the fiction, rolling against Unleash Your Powers results. 6- results may extend Invictus influence to them.) If they successfully help you remove Invictus’s influence, they mark potential, and you gain Influence with them.
- You can always give Invictus influence over you for a +2 on any roll, including a roll you have just made. If Invictus already has influence over you, it will shift your lables instead (1 up, 1 down), and then give you a condition.
- You can give Invictus influence to use any other playbook’s move you don’t have, “just this once.” Take a condition.